top of page

Date:  February 22

Time: 11 am EST/8 am PST to 2 pm EST/11 am PST

 

3 Contact Hours/0.3 CEUs

This 3-hour lecture based class provides public safety professionals and commercial industry leadership with a framework and philosophy for investigation of commercial and recreational diving accidents.

 

Who Should Attend:

  • Public Safety Dive Team Leadership and Members
  • Local diving organizations (public, private, non-profit)
  • Public Safety Leadership who may support dive rescue or dive accident investigations
  • Anyone wanting to better understand dive accident investigation concepts

 

What You Will Learn:

  • Why investigate diving accidents?
  • Modes of diving
  • Types of equipment for investigators
  • Physiological factors for responders
  • Knowledge/Skills/Abilities (KSA) of accident investigators
  • Tools for investigation
  • Preparing for an investigation
  • Conducting an investigation
  • Inspecting the site
  • Report and testimony

 

Relevant case studies may be provided as handouts and/or video files.

 

Instrcutor: Paul Seldes

Instructor Paul Seldes is a Certified Emergency Manager (CEM), a Florida Professional Emergency Manager (FPEM), and a Florida Master Instructor (FMI). He has served in leadership roles for a large Florida coastal County and served in Command and General staff positions on a Dept of Homeland Security (DHS) FEMA Incident Management Assistance Team (IMAT). He has supported operations at events of national significance including the 2020 and 2021 Superbowl and several space launches. Mr. Seldes responded to large disasters as part of Command and General Staff including several major hurricanes, the 9-11 terrorist attacks in NYC, and multiple tornadoes, flooding events, and wildfires. Mr. Seldes is a scuba Instructor-Trainer with SDI-TDI and has advised public safety dive teams and accident investigators.

Investigating Recreational and Commercial Diving Accidents

$69.00Price
    bottom of page